Monday Media Musings - 11/4/19
Nov. 4th, 2019 05:25 pmArrowverse update: I've only watched the first third or so of this week's Arrow, so no comments on that one yet. I also haven't seen last night's Batwoman or Supergirl yet. ( Spoilers )
Fleabag: This is another show I watched with my friend group. We actually watched the first season last summer, before I started the Monday Media series, and I don't think I wrote about it at the time. We watched the first season in three batches -- Episode One by itself, Episodes Two through Four on another night, and then the last two together -- and although I liked it better as it went along, I didn't quite get why the show has been so beloved. Last night, we watched the entire second season pretty much in one sitting, and I wonder if I would have liked the first season better if we'd done the same. It's also possible that the second season is just superior; it is the one that swept the Emmy Awards, after all. My friend E, who is our TV Night host, said that he sees Fleabag as a show about people who make bad decisions, and I agree with that reading. The second season also did better at telling an overarching story, as compared to the first season, which felt more like a series of vignettes (although they might have felt better connected if we hadn't taken multi-week breaks between them). We also laughed a lot more. Favorite moments include the paintings, the reappearance of the stolen art, and the fox, and I won't say more than that. :)