Hot hot hot

Sep. 7th, 2020 04:35 pm
owlmoose: Closeup of Melinda May (marvel - melinda may)
Normally I rather enjoy hot weather, but when 1. there's no possibility of escaping into a place with air conditioning like a mall or the movies and 2. the air quality outside is so bad that we can't open the windows in the evening when things cool down, it's really pretty terrible. Both of us are melting. I haven't seen the cat in hours. It's too hot to even heat up food in the microwave.

I'm glad today is a holiday, but if this continues into tomorrow I'm not sure how I will manage.

Welcome to the new reality I guess. It's not even fire season yet.
owlmoose: (ffx2 - baralai scissors)
I wish I could think/talk/post about literally ANYTHING else besides the terrible air, but it is difficult. The AQI (Air Quality Index) in San Francisco ticked up into the Very Unhealthy range yesterday afternoon, and there it is expected to stay for at least a little while. Turns out one problem with having bad air for a prolonged period is that the inside air also starts to turn bad, especially if -- like me -- you live in a place without filtered A/C. Ever stayed in a smoking room at a hotel, in the parts of the world where you can still smoke in hotel rooms? It's kind of like that, with the smell lingering in the air and sticking to your skin and getting in your mouth (seriously, I feel like I'm constantly tasting it, although I concede that this may be at least partly in my head).

Stanford cancelled classes today, but indoor events will go on, so our concert will continue as scheduled. At least it's in one of the newer buildings with a high-quality air filtration system, and the doors are meant to be light- and sound-tight, which limits the amount of outside air that can leak in. Our director sent an email letting us know that we could cancel if we felt it unhealthy to sing; I am unsure, but I was already down here by the time I saw it (I decided to work this afternoon, in part to catch up on things and in part to get out of my hours), so I figure I'll give it a try. I have water and cough drops, and can drop out if I have to.

It astounds me when I'm reminded that some people live in parts of the world where these AQI levels are just a fact of life. (The AQI page I linked above has a link to a FAQ about dealing with levels that are off their index, and it specifically mentions Beijing.) This live world map is both fascinating and terrifying. Not that I was exactly dismissing this danger before, but it will never not be real to me again.

Blargh

Nov. 15th, 2018 06:17 pm
owlmoose: (ramona flowers)
A concert week is not the best timing for an air quality emergency that I can think of.

Bedtime...

Nov. 21st, 2017 11:48 pm
owlmoose: (Default)
And I don't have much of anything to say. I get occasional attacks of vertigo and I've been fighting one for the last few days. Vertigo makes it hell to concentrate on much of anything, but writing is pretty much the worst. Here's hoping that tomorrow will be better.

noooo

May. 1st, 2012 09:03 pm
owlmoose: (art - gorey neville)
Why, Tumblr, did you pick this night of all nights to be down? When I'm working late, and covering the desk, and finished all the work I had to do that could be done on the desk, and I'm supposed to be writing fic for a silly meme? And why did you decide to go down at the exact instant I had finished one prompt and was in the process of posting it?

Internet problems. :P
owlmoose: (BMC - cloisters)
This is the portion of our program where we have run out of planned topics to cover and are so busy with concerts and friends visiting from out of town and getting ready for the holidays that we don't have time or energy to think of more.

Well, here's an easy one: rehearsals are going well. It's been awhile since I came out of a first dress feeling that good about an upcoming concert. I had been sort of iffy on one of the pieces (a contemporary setting of English Christmas poetry), but I like it a lot better with the orchestra. So, fingers crossed that it continues to go well, and that I don't collapse into an exhausted mess after it's done. Concerts Friday night and Sunday afternoon. Very glad that it's looking like I'll have Saturday entirely off...

ETA: Oh, wait, I know! I'll post about the [community profile] ff_exchange Friending meme! On DW and on LJ. It's been friending meme season lately, in both FF and DA, which is awesome -- meeting new people always makes me happy, and I find friending memes a lower-stress way to do so. Check them out.

Ugh

Nov. 9th, 2011 07:46 pm
owlmoose: (let go)
Looks like stupid Ed Lee won the stupid mayor's race. They're not officially calling it yet -- some absentee and provisional ballots left to count -- but he declared victory this afternoon. Dear San Francisco politicians: can we maybe get it together and run a smaller field next time? You do not all need to be mayor.

Work was stressful and annoying for reasons I'd rather not get into right now. Shoes keep dropping, but it never feels like the last one has fallen.

Mega Flare would be going well, but there's this one scene that I really hate, and I don't know how to fix it. I suppose I could cut it, but there's some important character interaction and canon crossing stuff. So I need to wrangle it into submission, somehow. I knew I should have put more effort into finding a beta.

Our water heater is leaking gas fumes, and last night I noticed that I was getting lightheaded when I sat at my desk for too long. T's upstairs trying to fix it right now, but he's not too hopeful.

At least there is new Top Chef tonight.
owlmoose: (heroes - hiro dino)
Eleven candidates for mayor? Eleven? And I have to make a decision because the person I least want to see win is the incumbent?

At least in the old days I could have waited for the runoff, but no, SF had to adopt an instant runoff system (pick your top three candidates). So I get to pick now. Not to mention choosing among the three candidates for sheriff, and six for district attorney, and the half-dozen local propositions. Bleh.

Well, off to go read all my political spam. (Seriously, it's been ridiculous. I'm tempted to count up the number of mailers I've received over the last month and vote for the person who sent me the fewest. All those dead trees. Very sad.)
owlmoose: (art - gorey neville)
I am really, seriously craving a trip to Fandom Island. Anyone else want to come?
owlmoose: (Default)
This year, ganked from [livejournal.com profile] angeltaisha.

Take the first line from the first post of each month, and that's your Year in Review.

January: I don't do New Year's resolutions, but every December I tell myself that I will find a way to write more in the coming year.

February: Progress on specific goals: 1. Write every day in January. Done! [Sigh. January. Those were the days. The days before 2009 went entirely to hell.]

March: Some of you may have heard that the Author's Guild sued Amazon over the text-to-speech capability of the new Kindle, claiming that this feature infringes on their right to sell the rights to audio books.

April: Tomorrow morning, we're heading to San Diego.

May: 17 hours of flying + 3 hours of layover + 9 hours of time difference = one seriously tired KJ.

June: Three entries in a row and all I've done is whine about this poison oak thing.

July: Ah, home, with kitties and T and just missing a heatwave, although I hear it was actually rather nice in SF proper.

August: This is just about the awesomething thing ever. ["This" was a video of Bobby McFerrin playing the audience as a musical instrument at the World Science Festival. It remains one of the most awesome things ever. If you didn't watch it before, you should watch it now.]

September: This is how I know it's Labor Day Weekend in San Francisco: I can hear the jackhammers hard at work on the Bay Bridge.

October: So the new quarter has started.

November: It figures that I would get struck by a cold that's making it hard to concentrate on anything just in time for NaBloWriMo.

December: Because I'm the only person who has been uploading FFX-2 fic to AO3 en masse so far, the character with the most stories in the archive is Paine (with 15 out of 25). [Still true as of this writing, although Baralai has taken over second place from Nooj.]

Feh. Is it over yet?
owlmoose: (Default)
Dear November,

Good riddance. Don't let the door etc. Also, feel free to take all of 2009 with you.

No love,
Me

Okay, with that out of the way, let's see how we did.

Journaling goals:

1. Write and publish at least one unlocked post every day.
- Missed this, but not by much; there was one day when I was sick and hating life and so didn't post publicly. (It was just whining, so you missed nothing.) I guess that's not so bad, but this is the first time that I've failed NaBloWriMo, so I'm kind of bummed.

2. A check-in post about writing progress counts as a post, but I can only use that as my sole post three days a week. I only resorted to this a couple of times, so I feel okay about that. Downside: I wrote so little that there wasn't much point in making writing progress posts.

3. At least four substantial posts per week. I'd have to go back and count, but I'm pretty sure I managed this one. So for posting goals, I think I can call this two for three.

Writing goals:

1. Write something every day. Hahahahahahaha. Ha. Ha. For the first half of the month, I blame being sick; for the second, I blame futzing with AO3.

2. Make progress on Aftermath. (Poor, poor Aftermath.) Some, almost all at the start of the month. Less than I wanted, though.

3. Finish at least two outstanding request fics, ideally more. This one, I did: I finished up two stories for the Alphabet meme. Both drabbles, true, but I completed them, and I think they both did prety well.

4. Post a completed story at least once per week. Nope. Once again, I blame the Cold of Doom - I missed in the second week of the month and pretty much gave up on this one.

So, overall I'm four for seven in terms of goals, which I suppose isn't too bad given that I basically lost two weeks. Lessons learned: sometimes I can write when I'm sick, but not always, and perhaps more importantly, I shouldn't let myself get discouraged when I set myself a goal and then miss a step almost right away. Maybe it was clear almost right away that I wasn't going to write a lot that first week and a half, but that's no excuse for having slacked off so much the rest of the month. Even with November as a semi-failure, I want to continue setting monthly goals and holding myself to them as best I can. It worked at the start of the year; it can work again.
owlmoose: (Default)
Unexpected side effect of working on FFXII and FFX-2 stories simultaneously: Baralai's voice ends up a lot more formal. I have to keep reminding myself that Spira's leaders are not nearly as verbose as those of Ivalice.

I'm actively playing with three stories right now -- one from the alphabet meme, "Aftermath", and an FF12 story that's been bouncing in my head for a couple of weeks at least -- and none of them are going particularly well. Too much atmosphere, not enough plot. This is a problem I've had before, but rarely with so many stories at once. I need to kick-start the bunny generators somehow.
owlmoose: (Default)
So I was going back through my LJ archives, and I just noticed that it's been a year and a day since I posted Chapter Two of "Aftermath". Crikey! How did that happen?

I did complete a first draft awhile back, but it was in need of a lot of help -- it was more like a detailed outline than a real draft, and thank god for having a beta reader who was willing and able to tell me so -- and the prospect seemed daunting, so I kept setting it aside. Fortunately, a few weeks ago I got inspired to pick it up again, and I've been making good progress on it for the first time in ages. Including a little bit today, and a good discussion about my changes so far and my future intentions with said beta, which was nice and energizing. So maybe it won't take me another year to finish the story.

Sometimes I suspect what's blocking my writing in general is the feeling that I really ought to be finishing this fic rather than working on quicker and easier things. So I feel guilty for spending time on shorts, and don't give them the attention they deserve, and can't finish them, (or in some cases even get started), and so everything suffers. Also, this is the only multi-chapter story I've written alone since "Salvage"; every other larger effort since has been in collaboration with [livejournal.com profile] kunstarniki. And while I absolutely loved writing collaboratively, I wonder if I became too dependent on the feedback from my writing partner. I got used to the idea that someone would be taking a look at every scene I wrote and that I would have feedback within a day or two of sending it along. I'm not getting that with "Aftermath", and so I get tempted into working on shorts that I can finish more quickly (in theory anyway -- it took me *months* to get around to finishing "Simple", for example). Am I really admitting that I'm this much of a sucker for feedback? I guess I am.

I know this lack of time, inspiration, and motivation to write is a bug that's going around fandom, and this is probably just how it's manifested in me. Blah blah whine. If nothing else, making a public statement that I fully intend to keep this story going, and to finish sooner rather than later, might keep me on track to actually do it.
owlmoose: (Default)
Poof!

I didn't really mean to vanish. Time just got away from me, and then I looked up and realized I hadn't posted for a week. Mostly it's that my mental energy is being consumed by a work thing that's been dragging on forever, and annoying me to my last nerve, and too complicated and boring for me to want to talk about here really. Maybe once it's all resolved I can tell the sordid story.

[livejournal.com profile] amybang is in town for work, and I lured her out here a day early by promising otters. We went yesterday, and they were, as always, awesome. Best cure for a stressful week/month/year/whatever: going down to Monterey to watch the otters play. Pictures soon.

After a bunch of false starts, both mental and actual, I made some progress on one of the "out of the comfort zone" meme stories. It was fun to write once I actually was able to get going on it. I need to rethink the ending, but with a little luck I might be able to post it tonight. This meme seems like it will be good exercise, but writing exercises only work if you can motivate yourself to sit down and, you know, actually write.
owlmoose: (Default)
I have survived yet another concert weekend -- I love the Carmina Burana, it's one of the most fun pieces in the repertoire, but it's long and taxing. I have a love-hate relationship with it, really, largely because there's a good thirty-minute chunk in the middle during which the women don't sing a note, and that's a long time to just stand there.

(Stanford is getting a new music center, and the conductor told us on Friday that the choral area will have seating. That may be the best news I've heard all year.)

But anyway. I do love singing, and performing is a big part of that. But concert weekends are such a drain. I lose so much time to dress rehearsals the week before, and then of course the time spent at the concerts themselves, that it hardly feels like a weekend at all. And coming on the heels of the previous weekend, where I had to work on Saturday... let's just say I'm really glad for the upcoming holiday. Yay for three-day weekends, even though I could probably use more like four or five.

Also, because of the weird performance schedule this year, I have rehearsal tomorrow. Beethoven's Ninth! My classical music icon is finally appropriate!

One definite upside: Carmina is a crowd-pleaser. So we got a really big cheer at the end, especially on Friday. Very gratifying!

Brrr

Jan. 31st, 2008 11:07 am
owlmoose: (Default)
There is no heat in my office. It's not working anywhere on the floor. It was out yesterday, too. This isn't the problem here that it would be in, say, Maine, but still. Not good.

My nose is cold. I had to put my coat back on. I'm drinking tea like there's no tomorrow. People are raiding the lost and found for scarves. It's getting kind of ridiculous.

I'm off to boil another pot of water.
owlmoose: (CJ)
GO AWAY.

Really. It's time. We've had enough. You can stop now.

Speaking of "going away" and "about time"... Woo! Given a choice, I'd rather have seen him beaten for re-election, but this will do. I am so glad this odious little man is gone.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8 91011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:36 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios